skip navigation

Hall of Fame

About the Hall

The MHSCA Hall of Fame is truly a HALL of Fame. It features a gigantic wall mural which features athletes and coaches in competition. Also, instead of the wall plaques, the new Hall of Fame also features a computer kiosk on which will be pictures of about 800 inductees of the of the Hall. The members can be looked up by name, their year of induction and their community or school. 
The MHSCA Hall of Fame is located in a hallway of the Student Activities Center (CAC) located on the campus of Central Michigan University. People who wish to see the hall may access it through the “old” Rose Arena Complex or the SAC entrance.



  • Rick Albro - Northview HS
  • John Dukes - Howell HS
  • Tim Gale - Onsted HS
  • Frank Garofalo - Mt Morris HS
  • Matthew Joseph - Utica Ford HS
  • Mike Joseph - Hartland HS
  • Gordon LeDuc - Marquette HS
  • Brian Lieckfelt - L'Anse Creuse HS
  • Tom Masserang - Bishop Galligher HS
  • Mark Nixon, Mancelona HS
  • Larry Nykerk - Traverse City Central HS
  • Dan Shafer - Algonac HS
  • John Shears - Grand Haven HS
  • Michael Smith - Saline HS
  • Jim Vanitvelt - Kearsley HS

Front Row (left to right): Mike Joseph-Basketball/Golf, Hartland HS; Matthew Joseph-Basketball/Softball, Utica Ford HS; Gordon LeDuc-Basketball, Marquette HS; John Shears-Swimming, Grand Haven HS; Jim Vanitvelt-Basketball, Kearsley HS; Tom Masserang (standing in for Tom is Jack)-basketball, Bishop Galligher HS; Michael Smith-Cross Country/Track, Saline HS

Back Row (left to right): Mark Nixon-Cross Country/Wrestling, Mancelona HS; Tim Gale-Football, Onsted HS; John Dukes-Football, Howell HS; Larry Nykerk-Tennis, Traverse City Central HS; Dan Shafer- Cross Country/Track, Algonac HS; Rick Albro-Basketball, Northview HS; John Harrington-Football, Farmington Harrison HS ( Distinguished Service Award)

Hall of Fame: Class of 2017


  • Roger Bunton - L'Anse Creuse North HS
  • Gary Cook - Jenison HS
  • Bob Czarnecki - Trenton HS
  • Mike Krogel - Woodhaven HS
  • Jim Goorman - Western Michigan Christian HS
  • Jean LaClair - Bronson HS
  • James Lahmann - New Lothrop HS
  • Jim Maier - Lakeshore HS
  • Don Merkal - Cass City
  • Ed Melhburg - Oakland Christian HS
  • Frank Musser - Belleville HS
  • Don Palmer - Hartland HS
  • Mike Phelps - Holland Christian HS
  • Mark Sobieralski - Gross Pointe North
  • Fred Thomann - (wife) Salem HS
  • Paul Verska - De La Salle Collegiate HS
  1. 1 of 16
  2. 2 of 16
  3. 3 of 16
  4. 4 of 16
  5. 5 of 16
  6. 6 of 16
  7. 7 of 16
  8. 8 of 16
  9. 9 of 16
  10. 10 of 16
  11. 11 of 16
  12. 12 of 16
  13. 13 of 16
  14. 14 of 16
  15. 15 of 16
  16. 16 of 16

Front Row (left to right):  Don Markel, Cass City HS – Wrestling and Athletic Director; Gary Cook, Jenison HS - Baseball; Mike Phelps, Holland Christian HS - Basketball; Frank Musser, Belleville HS - Swimming; James Lahmann, New Lothrop HS – Softball and Football; Jean LaClair, Bronson - Volleyball; Paul Verska, De La Salle Collegiate - Football

Back Row (left to right):  Donald Palmer, Hartland HS - Basketball; Mark Sobieralski, Gross Pointe South HS - Tennis; Roger Bunton, L’Anse Creuse North HS - Soccer; Ed Melhburg, Oakland Christian HS – Basketball and Athletic Director; Michael Krogel, Woodhaven HS - Basketball; Jim Maier,Lakeshore HS - Basketball; Jim Goorman, Western Michigan Christian HS – Basketball

Not Pictured:  Fred Thomann, Salem HS - Basketball; and Bob Czarnecki, Trenton HS - Football

Hall of Fame rings are available through Jostens of Michigan. They are available in mens and womens sizes. Any Hall of Fame member or inductee interested in purchasing a ring, or a school group wishing to purchase a ring for an inductee or Hall of Fame member should contact:

Jostens School Product Group

Scholastic Division